SKETCH IT UP, DOWN AND AROUND, PART ONE – JUNE INSPIRATION – MTS 27 DAY CHALLENGE

Good morning scrappy friends!  I hope you are having a lovely weekend and that you are/were able to get into your craft space to play a little.  For this month’s Tools ‘n Techniques prompt, I thought we would play with some sketches and see just how far I could stretch the interpretation, or inspiration.

I started with a card sketch from Page Maps that I found in the Spring issue of Scrapbook & Cards today (here is a link to the website where you can download the magazine, for free, if you are not subscribed :  http://www.scrapbookandcards.com/ )

card sketch for june sketch it up

Then I turned it on its side …

card sketch for june sketch it up

And I used it to create this layout!

Hidden pretties

I used the background as inspiration for my basic design as well as patterned paper choices and placement.  The stamped image on the card was the perfect choice for my photo block and the sentiment became my larger embellishment cluster.  I really could have left it as is and I would have been quite happy with the page but I got a little “punch-happy” ;).  I felt the page needed a few more pops of the tomato red colour.  The top left corner of the photo block was perfect to add another embellishment cluster and then the others just fell into place.  I am quite pleased with the result.  You can definitely see the card sketch in the final page but then it also served as a jumping off point for more!

The supplies are all from my stash – pretty old stash at that (except for the puffy stickers which are from the new Dear Lizzy Lovely Day Collection).  The striped paper is an exclusive Scraptastic paper from 2015 as is the checkered white/taupe paper, the tomato-red card stock is a retired Stampin’ Up colour, called Poppy Parade and I used my beloved Fitzgerald font as well as October Afternoon’s Daily Flash alphas in Grey Flannel.

I then went on to make a card, still using the flipped sketch as my inspiration.  I chose not to put a sentiment on the front of the card.  I like to have some versatile cards at the ready and when it comes time to use them, I add the appropriate sentiment on the inside.

card for june sketch it up I used the Sweet Hummingbird stamp and die set from Your Next Stamp, coloured it in with my Prismacolor pencils and used the 6X6 paper pad from Shimelle’s Little by Little collection (the scalloped oval on which I put the stamped image, was from my scrap basket).

There you have it.  Thanks for joining me today and I hope you have found some inspiration and perhaps a new way to look at sketches !  If you are not already a member of our Facebook group, come on over and join us – it is an awesome community!!! (Follow the link in the top bar).

I will be back tomorrow with Part two of this prompt – this time using a layout sketch!  Oh, but will we be making a layout???  Come back and see.  Happy scrapping my friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

