Altering chipboard, making flowers, fun new goodies … February’s TnT (Tools and techniques) prompt

Happy Saturday to all!  Thanks so much for joining me today!  This month’s prompt is all about digging deep into our stash and using up some of those long forgotten or put aside items.  But it is also about using some fun new goodies in the process.  If you are like me, you have wood veneer that you may never use in its present form, some raw chipboard you bought way back when it was all the rage (remember inchies? LOL), some mixed media backgrounds that didn’t make the cut as a background for a layout but that you can’t bring yourself to throw out …. and, I could go on and on 🙂  Also, sometimes, we just don’t have the time, or the mojo,  to make a layout, or a card, or a PL  spread but we want to do something creative.  This was my starting point for this month’s TnT.

I had made this 8.5 X 11 light mixed media background.  I applied Gesso to my cardstock, used the packaging technique,  added some splatters and a few droplets of water.

mm-background

I had an idea for a layout but it never quite made the cut.  One evening, I was watching my friend Monica (ScrapSaturdays on You Tube, here is the link to her channel:  https://www.youtube.com/user/scrapsaturdays/featured) .  She used stamps and embossing powders to create awesome floral embellishments on her page!  So Chopin and I decided to do the same :

I stamped using my Versamark ink, then used some Copper embossing powder to match the colour scheme of the background, zapped that with my heat gun and used either a punch or die to cut the flowers out (you could certainly fussy cut them as well, I am just lazy so take the easy way LOL).  I prefer the more open stamps as they let the background mixed media show more and tend to be a lighter on a page.

I had fun creating these flowers while I was waiting for the most exciting part of this prompt!!!  Tracy (Mercy Tiara) and Freckled Fawn collaborated and launched the most awesome mixed media kit, with the most awesome goodies :ff-kit

It has the most awesome tissue paper (did I say awesome enough?).  It is thicker than regular tissue paper, and has a very slight waxy finish to it – it cuts, tears and holds up to handling a lot better than regular tissue paper, but has the same translucent, light qualities.  There are lots of other great supplies in this kit as well.  Tracy made a video showcasing the kit.  You can find it here : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kOE84faLOFY&t=10s.  She also created a few layouts using the kit and you can watch the process vidoes for them on her channel as well.

Before making a layout, I wanted to experiment with some of the supplies that I was not familiar with.  The kit comes with a Gelato (my very first) and some lovely shimmery texture paste in a tube (which I have never used either).  I dug out some of those forgotten bits and spent an afternoon playing.

  • I applied several layers of Copper embossing powder (from my stash, not the kit) to the raw chipboard frame (three layers in total), backed it with some of that awesome tissue paper and then backed the tissue paper with cardstock.  Isn’t it pretty?
  • I also embossed the leaf die cut with several layers of copper embossing powder but forgot to take a picture of it (you will see that in my layout below).
  • I applied a thin layer of white acrylic paint to the chipboard butterfly as well as to the cork heart.  I then used the Gelato that came in the kit and smeared it, like a crayon on top of the dried paint, applied a little water with my waterbrush and altered the colour!  Some of the texture still shows through.  I then dabbed a little of the Gold Heidi Swapp texture paste with a paint brush.  I love the results.
  • Finally, I used my one inch punch to punch out a couple of circles from the tissue paper, applied the circles to the raw chipboard circles, used the texture paste as a paint to coat the sides of the chipboard and distress the tissue paper.  Finally, I applied a thick coat of Glossy Accents.  Et voilà … homemade flair!  Such fun 🙂

I finally had a little more time to spend in my scraproom so I took a few of the embellishments I made, some more of that awesome (yup, I say it again!) tissue paper, and the cute bow stencil that came in the kit and made a layout this afternoon.  I love it!  And, I still have lots of  handmade embellishments left for future layouts and of course lots of the kit left.

art-runs-in-the-family

My grandmother was quite an accomplished artist!  The photo on this layout is of her work – she painted this in 1919, at the age of 19!  She also sketched using charcoal “pencils” and was a piano teacher.

So there you have it … wow that was a long post!  Thanks so much for hanging in there with me all the way to the end.  I hope this post has inspired you to alter a few of your more “raw” bits and pieces as well as using some of those forgotten supplies, like embossing powders.  Finally, if you want to get your hands on that lovely Freckled Fawn Mixed Media kit, please follow the link in Tracy’s video – buying it using the link does not cost you any more but it does give Tracy a small amount, which allows her to keep us inspired as she does so well!!  Have a great weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

