Embossing fun (folders,crimper, scoreboard and stylus…. oh my!

Happy Sunday to all!  It has been a frightful weekend here – non-stop rain, wind and cold since Friday;  the perfect reason to stay indoors and craft away (a couple of pesky chores got in the way here and there but I did try and avoid them as much as possible 😉

For October’s TnT  prompt (Tools and Techniques) over on the Mercy Tiara 27 day scrappy challenge Facebook group, we went in search of all our embossing tools – old school, new school and middle school 😉

tnt-october

There is a little something for everyone, even if you don’t have any embossing folders.  I have a Cuttlebug manual die-cutting machine so I can’t use the larger embossing folders – the newer 6X6, or larger folders don’t fit through my machine.  I love the look, though, of a wider, and longer embossed area on a layout – it adds lovely, but subtle texture. I went in search of my old well-loved, but often neglected crimper (that wine coloured contraption in the photo).  I made this 8.5 X 11 layout :

open-your-heart-chopin

I tore a piece of vanilla cardstock and then passed in through the crimper.  I also tore a piece of very old patterned paper from my stash (I have no idea who, or where, it comes from).  I inked the edges of both, then ruffled them slightly before adhering them to a piece of black cardstock.  Black cardstock as a background may well be one of my new favourites.  I don’t have a square punch, so just used my trimmer to cut 1X1 and 1.25X1.25 inch squares.  The top and bottom clusters of sqaures, as well as the photo block are popped up  on foam.  The rest of the  layout is quite simply embellished with sequins, gold colour shine, a couple of cork hearts and wood veneer.  I have had the title piece in my stash for a very long time (it comes from an old Scraptastic kit) and kept waiting for the perfect place to use it.  Success!!

I also made a couple of cards, and a 4X6 PL style card using my embossing folders :

On the left-hand side card, I used the debossed side of the image (I am not really sure if I did that on purpose or not LOL, but I love the outcome).

To make the 4X6 card, I used the direct ink to paper technique on the raised portion of the embossed pattern.  This technique works best with a tight, rather dense pattern as is the case with this houndstooth pattern.  It is also important to keep a steady, but very light touch as you are swiping the ink across the pattern.  Turn the ink pad over, and very lightly swipe from one side to the other in one continuous movement.  I applied 3-4 layers to achieve the effect above.

Finally, I also had a little fun with my scoreboard, and with a stylus.  These basic tools can also be used to add a little detail, and texture to projects :

I used the scoreboard to add a few lines to the top of this card, and then just used the scraps on my desk for the rest of the card – easy clean-up LOL, and I got a card out of it ;). Tracing a steel die with a stylus, or through a stencil can also be a fun way to get texture on larger pages that don’t fit through an embossing machine.  You can also fussy cut out the images.  I find that vellum works the best for tracing through a die.  As you can see from the photo, the patterned paper image is more faint although in real-life it can be seen and therefore could still be used for some subtle texture.  If you want the embossed side on your layout, or project, turn the paper over.  Tracing directly on the front side of a project will result in a debossed texture.

Well, there you have it!  October’s Tnt – I hope you had fun discovering, or rediscovering some well-loved but forgotten tools, as well as some cool and easy techniques. I apologise to those who are now hunting high and low for that crimper you put away in such a safe place, so long ago 😉 LOL …..

Leave a Reply

